Cheap 'n' Quirky Wedding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Peplum Dresses June 5, 2012

Filed under: the dress — clln @ 4:10 pm
Tags: , , ,

Carolina Herrera peplum dress, photo credit Thomas Iannaccone

Peplum is all the rage right now so as you’re trying on wedding gowns with hip flaps (as Jezebel calls them,) you should probably keep a few things in mind:

1. It’s all the rage right now, but it’s a trend. Eventually it won’t be all the rage, it will be “so 2012.” Just think of all of the fashion-forward brides of the 1980s. These photos are going to be in your home for years to come, treasured by your children and grandchildren. That is, unless your outfits are so dated that the photos are just laughed at by your children and grandchildren.

2. Think of where most peplums are placed. Now think of where you’ll be holding your bouquet (if you choose to hold one, this is your wedding, do your thing.) It’s the same place. The one plus side is that it will keep your arms away from your sides, making them appear slimmer in photos, but you’ll lose the whole peplum effect. What’s the point in wearing it if it adds bulk but will never be seen? See the above photo for reference and keep in mind that the model is holding a smaller-than-average bouquet.

3. Are you wearing the dress or is the dress wearing you? For some people, the dress is the most important part of the wedding. If you’re cheap ‘n’ quirky, I assume you’re different. For me, the most important part of the wedding was that I was marrying my soul mate. I wanted the photos to reflect us, not the fancy outfits we wore once. Now, if you’re a fashion-forward couple, maybe peplums do reflect who you are. In that case, rock it. But make sure that you’re the center of attention, not the fabric you’re covered with.

As you may have guessed, I am not on the peplum bandwagon. I acknowledge that they create curves and sometimes they add to a very interesting, architectural dress. But on top of being cheap and quirky, I am also practical. I want wedding photos to stay classic forever. I’m not dumping all over peplums though, I have some solutions!

Elizabeth Fillmore peplum gown

1. A peplum dress for the reception! I know, before my own wedding I vehemently opposed reception dresses because it’s an added expense and you only get to wear your gown once for a few hours anyway, BUT, at my own wedding, I realized how difficult it was to walk around and dance in my dress (which wasn’t even very big.) So if you’re really set on a peplum, why not wear it after you’ve put your bouquet down?

2. Choose a dress with a soft, not-so-voluminous peplum that hangs low like the Elizabeth Fillmore gown to the right. You’ll get the peplum look you crave and it can easily share your hip area with your bouquet.

3. Make the bridesmaids wear the peplum. They get to be trendy, you’ll look classic, and your wedding will have lots of peplums.

Keep in mind that none of the dresses listed above are in the Cheap ‘n’ Quirky price point, they’re for reference only. While I am a peplum-hater, I support your choice to wear a dress that’s just as quirky as you want it. If you choose peplum, keep the above notes in mind and choose wisely. Then wear the heck out of that dress and look radiant! Do you love peplum? Do you love it for brides? Let me know in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

