Cheap 'n' Quirky Wedding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

More Paper Flowers June 30, 2010

It’s been a long time since my last post, I made the journey to visit my long-distance fiancé so the packing took up a lot of my time. Well, I’m here now and I’m crafting.

Jar of paper spider mums

I’ve been long-intrigued with spider mums and fell in love with the Flowery Swizzle Stick craft on Martha Stewart Weddings. I’m not looking to make swizzle sticks (at the moment, maybe I’ll change my mind later) so I turned it into a faux flower by attaching the flower head to floral wire.

The materials are all available at Walmart and are very inexpensive. For crepe paper, I bought a roll of crepe paper streamers from the party section for $1.25. I purchased the floral wire for $0.77 and floral tape (in a 3-pack) for about $3, both in the floral and craft section. I cut each wire in half because they were much too tall, plus it gives me twice the amount.

The materials: crepe paper party streamers, floral wire, and floral tape

The one note I would make is that Martha’s directions don’t give a good idea of how much crepe paper to use. With the streamer, I used about 10-12 inches per flower. OK, I actually have another note. The thinner you make each cut, the more realistic the flower will look. Check out the work in progress:

The cut piece of crepe paper, ready to be wrapped around the wire


Wrapping the crepe paper


Wrapping the floral tape around the paper and wire


Fluffing the petals

I’m thinking these could be used as reception decor, perhaps as a bouquet or boutonniere if I perfect it. There’s still time, gotta see what else we come up with for decor and such.

 

2 Responses to “More Paper Flowers”

  1. Apurva Says:

    Hi,
    I am Apurva, all the way from India and getting to try my hands on crafting. I have come across this simple way of making crepe flowers which I would definetly try.. thanks alot for making it so easy.

    apu

  2. Samantha Says:

    Thanks for posting and sharing! It’s helpful since I want to do all paper type flowers and these looks great!


Leave a Reply

