Cheap 'n' Quirky Wedding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thanks, Aunties May 5, 2010

Filed under: bridal party,Uncategorized — clln @ 3:27 am

My aunts have saved the day. They took my mom shopping for her dress for the wedding.

I can’t recall if I’ve blogged about our past shopping attempts, but they were a little rough. For a little while, my mom had her options down between a ’50s-housewife sundress or a fuschia minidress. My mom is well past her days of wearing minidresses, plus they looked super-casual considering my FMIL is wearing a floor-length satin dress with crystals all along the top. She was determined to find a red dress even though I played the bridezilla card (we have a green theme, not a Christmas theme.) She also refused to wear any material she’d sweat in. Um, she’s on the tail-end of menopause and it’s the summer. There’s no material that she won’t sweat in. Thank goodness my aunts stepped in. My mother may be style-challenged, but she has 5 sisters who are pretty darn good at putting an outfit together.

She’s got a lovely sleeveless cocktail dress in gold and taupe now, it’ll go with the green theme and my FMIL’s silver dress. I’m so relieved! If I describe it, it’ll sound terrible, so perhaps I’ll get a photo up here soon. It’s got a little pattern, a little bling, a tiny bit of sash. My aunts have even supplied her with a clutch and jewelry to go with it. Phew. Since I’m all about giving props where props are due, I’d like to give a huge shout-out to my aunts on my mom’s side. You’ve saved my wedding from looking like Santa’s Elves’ Summer Formal.

 

Leave a Reply

