Cheap 'n' Quirky Wedding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

DIY Cake Toppers March 11, 2010

Filed under: cake,crafts — clln @ 4:46 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Like many couples, my fiancé and I met online. It wasn’t on a dating site  or even one of these new-fangled social networking sites.  We met on Habbo Hotel. You make a cute little avatar, you walk around the hotel, you meet other little avatars, and you chat in little speech bubbles. It was eight years ago, we were young. We even got Habbo-married. 

We wouldn't want to easily identified on the internet, our Habbos went undercover with mustaches.

 

As a result, Habbo holds a special place in our hearts and we’d like to incorporate it into the wedding somehow. My fiancé suggested a cake shaped like the hotel. As this blog’s title would suggest, I’m cheap. I’m not paying for a cake that looks like that; for starters, I’m not a fan of fondant. Plus I think it would be challenging to cut… So my fiancé suggested a cake with a photo on it, like from Sam’s Club’s bakery.  OK, that’s a bit too cheap and any still off of Habbo will be pixelated (see above.) I love the idea of cupcakes at weddings. They’re adorable, no one has to stand around and cut them, they’re easy to take along if the guests are too full to eat it there, and if a child (or drunk person) decides to dip a finger into the icing, they only ruin one cupcake and not the entire cake. It happened at my aunt’s wedding, it’s been a fear of mine ever since. We can do a small cake to act as a cutting cake/top tier (depending on how we decide to arrange the cupcakes) which can take cake toppers.

That’s it: cake toppers! That’s how we’re incorporating Habbo Hotel into our wedding. Of course, no one sells custom Habbo cake toppers, so we made some out of Sculpey III. I say “we,” but it was my fiancé’s idea and he made his and I made mine. I’m not the only crafty one in this couple. So here, enjoy photos of our craftiness.

My fiancé's cake topper's head. I got myself a crafty man.

Yes, my topper's head looks like a balding man now, but just wait for the finished product.

 

Basically we used small styrofoam balls in the heads to keep them spherical and two in each torso to keep the weight down (we don’t want them too be too heavy on the cake.) We also used toothpicks to keep all of the styrofoam balls where we needed them to be or to hold them one on top of the other in the torso. In the bottom of the bride’s dress, I used some crumpled up tin foil to fill it out, save clay, and cut down on the weight. Here are the finished products:

Well, the bride is accidentally tall and busty, but hey, I can't complain that I'm fabulous.

By the way, the groom did have a very spherical head before having to attach that hat. The hat was tough, but my fiancé’s Habbo always wore one so it had to be there. 

Hopefully they look bobbaing awesome on the cake! I would definitely recommend trying to make your own clay toppers. They’re cute, not too tough once you get the technique down (we didn’t even have a practice run), and they add a very personal touch. Have you seen some of those cheesy toppers people are falling for now? Plus these aren’t too pricey if you get your clay on sale. Hello, Michaels coupons!

 

2 Responses to “DIY Cake Toppers”

  1. Donna Says:

    Omg thats soooo sweet, me and my partner met online in Habbo 7 years this august and New Year 2012 He popped the question!!! I want more than anything our Habbo Characters to be the toppers on our wedding cake but no-one seems to make or sell anything like it!!! This info has helped so much and I hope we can find someone that will be able to remodel our characters!! ❤ x

    • clln Says:

      Aww, I love hearing about other couples who met on Habbo! Even if you can’t find anyone to make them, I’ll bet you can make them yourself. It was a little bit frustrating because we only started working on them at about 11pm or something ridiculous, but they’re really not too hard.


Leave a Reply

