Cheap 'n' Quirky Wedding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

For Starters February 16, 2010

Hello all,

I should start off by saying the wedding is booked for August 2010 in beautiful New England. I don’t live in New England and neither does half of the guest list. In fact, I’m about a 10-hour drive away. This is affecting some of the decisions. I can’t go to the venue’s once-a-year tasting (they get everyone’s tastings done at once.) Naturally, I’m sad since tastings seem like very awesome parts of the planning process. I’ve given my spot at the tasting to the fiancé’s mother so she can feel involved, plus I trust my fiancé’s food choices so it’s not too bad.

We have a lot of out-of-town guests (who will henceforth be known as OOTs, a short form I mooched from the now-defunct Modern Bride magazine) and this affects decisions too. I was hoping for a hotel venue where the guests could stay and we could hold the ceremony and reception. I wanted to minimize the guests’ opportunities to get lost, so this would eliminate any traveling between anything. We weren’t blown away by the hotels we were looking at, so we’ve booked a lovely place where we’ll hold the ceremony and reception, at least it cuts out travel between those two. I’ll post more on the venue later, it’s getting close to bed time right now.

 

Leave a Reply

